Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

large format photography

I've been thinking about some subject matter for 8 x10 black and white work using the Cambo SC  monorail. These are difficult to use outside the studio, as they are bulky and heavy. Mine  has a large monorail that does not collapse,  and this  makes it difficult to carry in the field.   It is just not possible to carry this camera and the  heavy duty LInhof tripod very far.

Many large format photographers  address this problem by buying an 8x10 field camera that can be folded up in a back pack. I cannot afford a new one  of these,  and there are few second hand ones in Australia. I've chosen the  easy access by car option---that is, keep the monorail, drive to a spot,  unload the camera and then set it up. 

I did this picture of a Xanthorrhoea  (a yakka bush) as  part of a roadside scoping study that I was doing  with a 6x6 camera just before I left for the Tasmanian phototrip in March. The picture  works. Finally, I have something that I can work with and, being roadside vegetation,  it is accessible  by car.