Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

Milpirri Festival

After the opening  of the Mallee Routes exhibition at Atkins Photo Lab in Adelaide  I linked up with friends in Mildura  to drive to see the Warlpirri's Milpirri Festival at Lajamanu in the Tanami Desert  in the Northern Territory.  It was a 3 day drive

This is  one of the  posters that surround the stage  at the Milpirri Festival; the huge painted banners retell  the stories from the different family groups  that have been  learnt.  

The photo of the poster was made at  dusk with my digital camera. I  was at the limits of the capacity of the Sony NEX-7. Though it was an improvement on 400ASA film,  I couldn't go beyond 800 ASA. Friends,  who were using more modern digital camera's (such as  the Sony A7 or  the Fuji X-Pro 2),   could work with  ASA settings 3 times that. Unlike me, they were  then able to  photograph people at the festival after dusk with minimal lighting.    

It became clear to me that I'm using old digital technology. Things have improved in the last 4-5 years. I was impressed by the Fuji X-Pro2 (an APS-C),   which is  a high-end, rangefinder-esque mirrorless camera. In the hand It felt like a Leica  M film camera, it was best at traditional  film style 35mm photography.  The image quality looked excellent, and the colours very filmic.