Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

seascapes

One subject matter that I've explored again and again with a digital camera is the sea and sky. None have been successful enough for me to try venture forth using a large format camera with either colour or black and white film.  There's been one exception.

I don't know what the problem is. Picture after picture looks banal and boring.   I've even taken photos at different times of the day, but it malkes  little difference, 

It's frustrating, given that Hiroshi Sugimoto does such a good job of the  sea and its horizon, and I spend a lot of time by the ocean and so I am familar with its different atmospherics. Maybe I need to experiment with longer exposures to soften the horizon line and smooth out the action of the waves.