Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

an upside down world

I was finally able to do an 8x10 black and white (Ilford FP4 Plus)  shoot of some  rocks just west of Petrel Cove this morning.  I needed  a certain set of conditions: overcast skies,   a light southerly  wind,  and a low tide. It came together this morning after I'd walked Ari along the cliff tops.  

We  walked  back to the car, I picked up the large format gear and carried it---camera, tripod, computer bag with dark slides and other accessories ---down to the rocks between the cliffs and the sea.  Ari stood guard whilst I set up the Cambo and took the photo of a simplified shape of granite rock.   

Although  a flatbed, folding field  camera  would make carrying the gear  a lot easier---  the  8x10 Cambo  monorail is awkward and heavy to lug any distance  from the car, and  I was struggling this morning, I'm happy to work within the limitations  the  heavy monorail imposes on me. 

I  have no desire to  truck the camera gear up into the Victorian high country. Working close to the car is okay  for me, since large format photography requires  picture editing before exposure rather than after it, as with digital.   Thus the next  photoshoot ---  with  overcast skies--- is a ruin  of a house on Rosetta Head in Victor Harbor.  The location is  close to  the road and so  easy to access.