Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

4 trees

I've been waiting some time to remake this roadside vegetation picture: 

I'd casually snapped in one morning last year on a poodle walk along Baum Rd. I was attracted by the light. 

 I'd been back to reshoot it with a large format camera since but the light and the grass wasn't right. It was all too green. I had to wait for the grass alongside the road to die. I'd gone back earlier in the week. The  winter grass was dead  but it was overcast and there was  no early morning sunlight. The scene looked drab and dull.  

I went back this morning with Ari  as there was some  light early morning  cloud and the promise of lots of sunlight. We did a poodlewalk along Baum road,  then came back to the trees to watch  how  the sunlight lit up the scene. 7.30 am was around the right time. 

If there is sunlight tomorrow morning I will be back with the 8x10 Cambo.