Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

Adelaide: MLC building

I've started  doing some large format architectural photography whilst I'm in Adelaide.  

I revisited the MLC  building   on the north western side of Victoria Square this morning with the Cambo 5x7 monorail. I'd been at that location  a fortnight ago,  but I'd screwed the photo shoot up,  as I'd neglected to take off the yellow filter off the  Schneider-Kreuznach  Symmar 210mm lens that I use with my  black and white film.   

I'd seen  the yellow filter, and even though the 5x7 sheet film holders  were loaded with Kodak Portra 160 ASA colour film,  I didn't change it  to a UV filter.   I had  a brain snap, even though I had't used black and film in that camera for  zones. 

The 12 storey MLC building was constructed  in 1957.  It was designed  by Melbourne architects, Bates Smart and McCutcheon and is an example of  early modernist   architecture  in Adelaide.   The building is now heritage listed.