Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

coastal landscape

An earlier attempt shooting  black and white film, having  the negatives developed by Atkins Techniclour,  creating a digital file by  scanning the negative with an Epson V 700 scanner, then post-processing in Silver Efex Pro and Lightroom.  That's the standard workflow of Encounter Studios. It's a digital world.

I'm reluctant to do this kind of coastal landscape with film because I don't have any black and white filters  for the Rolleiflex SL66. It's a heritage camera--- circa 1980s--and I  really do need some  yellow filters  to highlight the clouds if I am to do this kind of landscape as distinct from rock abstracts.  The glass filters, however,  are really hard to come by.

I've been scanning most of the morning at Encounter Studio  and the results for the black and white negatives are not good. I  do not seem to be able to use the Silver Efex Pro software to recreate the effects of  the missing yellow filter in front of the lens.   So I am  left with very bland skies---just like the nineteenth century photographers. So I create a nineteenth century looking photo.

I appreciate that the Silver Efex Pro software is primnarily  for converting digital colour files into black and white.So  I'm going to have to do some research about post-processing software  for digital black and  white photography.

I know--its Photoshop---but I cannot afford  to buy it for both my Mac Pro computer in Adelaide and the iMac  in Victor Harbor.