Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

mistakes

My lack of success with using the  8x10 Cambo has continued. 

 I mucked up some of the 8x10 photos of the marshland at American River. My heart sank  when I saw the negatives and I was distraught when I saw the scans. I had over exposed them.  The light had changed whilst I was waiting  for the right kind off light--a ray of early morning sunshine lightening up the marshland. The light changed during the 20 minutes I waited. Everything had became brighter--it didn't look it to the eye--- and I neglected to take another  light reading before taking the picture  

The colour has been washed out,  and the pictures have a bleached look.  I've  end up with  mushy, uninspiring images. They look ugly. 

All I have is a couple of  digital scoping images:

The 8x10's  will have to be reshot on the next trip in late autumn. In the meantime maybe I can create something from the  mistake? Maybe I can convert them into black and white using Silver Efex -Pro 2, since, unlike Lightroom 4,  it works with Apple's Mavericks O/S.