Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

scanning

I've been having problems scanning my black and white negatives. The highlights of  the scanned negatives have blown out and the files have been too contrasty. I initially thought that  these problem were caused   by over exposure  then the  overdevelopment of the negatives. This is an example:

No matter what I do with these kind of files,  the whites go muddy. It's hopeless. 

Yesterday, when I was scanning with the  Epson V700  flatbed using the  Epson software upgrade for the Mac's latest  operating system (Mountain Lion)  I decreased the contrast  on a similar negative  making it  flat and grey  to see what difference  this would make.  

The result above  is a file that I am able  to  work on with respect the highlights.  

So my problems were caused by  the  scanning. Before the software upgrade I did not have a reduce contrast option. What was being scanned  was way too contrasty when using the old basic  Epson Scan software  that came with the scanner.