Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

the upgrade journey starts

I have finally begun the necessary upgrades  to my digital "darkroom" that is centred around independent content creator and  work-from-home.  The  current set-up has served me well for the last 7 years,  but it is finally  reaching its use-by date.  The software of the Epson V700 scanner has a flaw as it won't scan b+w negatives but  I cannot upgrade  it as the O/S of the Mac Pro is too old.

The upgrade  is going to involve  buying new computers around June 2022 when Apple release the  more professionally oriented MX Macs;  plus new processing software  for both still photography and video. The hardware plan is that a Mac mini plus  an  Eizo screen will replace the old Mac Pro (2009) that I have been using for my film photography. Then I will be able to  upgrade the Epson software.     

The first step  in the longish upgrade journey was to upgrade the operating system of the 27 inch  iMac (2015 Intel) that I use for my  digital  still photography and to download new post- processing software.  To my surprise I was still able to upgrade the macOS for the iMac  from  the macOS High Sierra that I had been using to the recently released  macOS Monterey. (I thought that the 2015 iMac would be too old to upgrade to the  latest macO/S). 

My fingers are crossed as I'm hoping that   the iMac has the capacity (processing power)  to be able to use process  the 4K videos from the recently acquired Panasonic SH1.  

The O/S upgrade for the iMac  was done  last night and  that meant the disc version of Lightroom 6 that I have been using since 2015  is no longer viable.  I was  then forced  to upgrade my still photography post-processing software which I had been putting off for several years.  The video software will be  the next step: either Apple's Final Cut Pro or Black Magic's  DaVinci Resolve.  The  former is more user friendly (ie., designed for beginners to develop their skills to become a good video editor)  but it is expensive, whilst  the latter is  for more serious film making  but  its basic version is  free. I'm more aligned with digital content creation than working in film or television.  

The O/S upgrade for the iMac  was done  last night and  that meant the disc version of Lightroom 6 that I have been using since 2015  is no longer viable.  I was  forced  to upgrade my still photography post-processing software which I have been putting off for several years.  The video software is the next step --  and this opens up a  digital world that requires  a set of new skills eg., edit, color, audio  and mixing.   

 I downloaded a months free trial of Capture One (no.22)  for the iMac  last night in order to see if this software  would work for me.   I am currently struggling to become familiar with it, or even to find my way around it.  It is going to take time and it will involve watching a lot of Youtube help videos.

I am still tempted to stay with Adobe and their  photography leasing option: --tempted  as I am comfortable with Lightroom but hesitant because  the leasing arrangement becomes expensive for the  independent content creation and the  work-from-home set-up. Adobe only gives you 7 days free trial.