Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

more low light situations

One afternoon  in mid-July I was late going on a poodlewalk with Maleko.    As a result, I ended  up making my way back to the car  at the Petrel Cove carpark after dusk had fallen. It was another of those  low light situations   in photography,  and so I decided to test the low light capabilities of my  newly acquired Sony a7R111 as the  seascape at dusk looked quite luminous. 

This is a hand held  photo made whilst I was walking along  Depledge Beach towards Petrel Cove.  It was  after 5.30 pm  in  mid-winter, the sun had disappeared behind the hills,  and  the light was subdued.   

No noise reduction has been used on this image when I was  lightly post processing the digital file in Lightroom on the iMac.   There is no need,  as there was no noise.  

The photo below was made a few minutes earlier,  whilst I was walking along  the cliff tops towards Depledge Beach.  As you can see the sky  was heavily overcast at dusk,  and the  rain was coming in from the southern ocean.  

I would not be able to take photos in these kind of low light situations  handholding my  film Leica.  Here then is one way in which digital technology has surpassed analogue  technology.