Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

an old MA revisited

Art photography is often about  journeys along winding tracks and trails, some of which lead to no where.     

Sometimes these  journeys are  in the form of working on projects over a long period of time. Eventually an archive of photos builds up and we start to wonder what can we  do with these  photos over and above showing them in the the odd physical exhibition that is quickly forgotten and only exists on a CV.    Often  these projects are then put to one side, we forget about them, and we move onto new projects.

A classic example of this is my old MA (photos and dissertation) at Flinders University in South Australia in the late 1980s.

 The general idea  of the MA  was to explore  Romanticism's critical response to  industrial capitalism  and then to map this onto Australian modernity.  I worked on it for 2 years,   then had to put it aside (ie., dumped it) when I upgraded to do a PhD in continental philosophy at Flinders.  I  forgot about the MA and the photography  whilst working on the PhD in the 1990s  and when  I moved into the paid workforce in Canberra.  When I picked up photography again  in the first  decade of 21st century I would  sometimes take photos that were within the boundaries of the industrial MA project,  but I never thought about it as a project. 

The MA was something best forgotten. I'd failed. I was embarrassed by the failure.  I realized that  it had became normal  for  people to do MFA's,  complete them, and then  teach/lecture/research photography in a university,  such as RMIT. My old b+w photos just reminded me of my shame over my failure. I was now happy just making new photos like most other photographers.   

One day, when I was bored,  I started going through my old black and white archives.  I saw a body of work sitting there, asked a few friends  to look at it, and then  to help me quickly draft up a dummy photobook. I  showed the dummy  to a few people, then put it into the background. The dummy photobook was a bunch of photos of Bowden. However, that didn't really make sense of the old MA, since the text was missing, and it was the text that I had struggled with so long ago.   

I became interested in revisiting the MA.  Could I rework the archived photos + text  now? If so, then  the original fragmentary text and photos would need to be overlaid with memory and history,  since Australia is now a post-industrial society and my photos and text referred to a world that was now forgotten history.  Could this reworked MA become a photobook project?

I hunted around the studio at Encounter Bay and eventually came across some bits of text from the MA. I  read them quickly, started  to remember the books that I had been reading at the time and realised that these were still in my library. I flicked  through them.  I went back to my negatives and started going through those  from the 1980s that related to the MA and started to scan them.  They looked okay. I tentatively started to  re-read other books on the internet, became aware that a lot more material photography had been published.   I rejoined two university library's to gain access to books,  then  began to  rework the fragmentary text. 

 I  started a blog in 2016, less because of a desire for recognition, and more to help work through the photos and textual material.  I  quickly discovered that  the  UniSA library  held no aesthetics whilst  the Flinders Uni Library had no new material since when I taught at the uni.   I slowly came to realize that there was enough open access material on the internet to help me along the way.   Times had changed.  The internet had replaced inter-library loans. 

It has taken 5 years  for me to remember and  then slowly recover  what I'd been trying to do with the MA.  As I re worked the MA  in the blog  I remembered more and more,   and I came across more and more material that was relevant.     

Then in early 2021 with the Covid-19 border closures and the Mallee Routes project on hold  I created the Bowden Archives and Industrial Modernity website with  its 4 sections. Going public like this  forced me to seriously work on the text and galleries for each of the sections.  It started to feel like being back  in PhD mode: -- sitting in front of a computer reading and writing day in and day out until  I had a draft to work on.  

So this is a  photographic journey of 40 years,  and it still has a way to go until the book's pdf  is sent to a printer. So it is not a tipped- in photobook, or a unique and luxurious object.  The website is the public face of the reworked MA--the old desire for recognition?--  whilst I work behind the screen to  shape and edit the material for a book.

I realize now that I couldn't have  completed the MA., given the limited resources at the university in terms of staff, supervision  and books.  I also had to do a PhD  in philosophy in  order for me to understand and  make sense of the European writers/philosophers,   and then to be able to relate this material  to Australia's industrial  modernity.

It's been a long journey and a steep learning curve.