Thoughtfactory: pictures experiments journeys

brief working notes on various photographic projects

The hardware upgrade has finally happened

The studio  hardware  upgrade is  nearly finished.   Thank goodness. 

The old Mac Pro (2009) and  its cinema monitor are  now sitting in the garage looking for a new home. The  Mac Studio and  Eizo monitor  replacement  have  arrived,  been unpacked, and are  sitting on my desk in the studio.   I've  just started  working with them. I've also upgraded to the  Adobe Photography plan. I didn't want to lease the  photo software  but  I really didn't have that much of a choice.

A picture from 2021 of a building in Pirie St made with my old Rolleiflex TLR through an open  window in the Epworth building:

At this stage of the upgrade I cannot get my  old Epson V700  flatbed scanner to work, even though I  upgraded to the VuScan software. So all the film photos from  2022  plus many of the b+w ones from 2021 have yet to be scanned.  I have been forced  to order a new Epson V850 Pro scanner. 

The  picture below is of a shop window in Rundle Mall from 2021 that I'd   previously scanned on the old hardware. It is from a medium format negative that was made using an old Rolleiflex TLR. 

The upgrade  has been  expensive.  It  cleaned out all the money  that I'd  put aside  for the last two years  to pay  for the new hardware.   Two years savings gone in a flash. The technological treadmill is increasingly  become harder  to afford, especially when it involves  stepping  up from the consumer hardware market  to the professional one.  

Sure,  the digital technology (computers, monitors, cameras, software)  keeps on improving, often substantially;  but it  is becoming increasingly beyond the ability of many photographers and videographers to finance  the necessary upgrades. Necessary because  the hardware eventually stops working and it needs to be replaced if you want to keep making photos and videos.  Buying second hand  isbe a possible option, given that there are fewer low-cost options as the photography  industry focuses on higher-end users.